Vital Recommends…Bumper Edition

Things have been pretty busy here at Vital and we’ve been a bit lax in posting about great new music we’ve been listening to, so today we’re going to be recommending a bunch of different artists who don’t have that much in common, apart from the fact they are awesome.

First up is Husky, who’s amazing song ‘Tidal Wave’ was released on Sub Pop towards the end of last year. The amazing animation video is definitely worth a watch, as is the live version below, where the room they are recording in really adds an amazing quality to the vocal harmonies. If that’s whetted your appetite, you can pick up the album at iTunes using the link below.

Forever So - Husky

Next up is a pretty old track from 2010, but we haven’t been able to stop listening to it the last few weeks. Lissie is by no means a new artist but isn’t as well known in the UK as she should be. She’s going to be playing Secret Garden Party this and definitely worth seeing live. She also has an amazing cover of ‘Go Your Own Way’ by Fleetwood Mac which you might have heard in an advert recently. You can see the video here, and check out the rest of her ‘Covered Up With Flowers’ EP on iTunes.

Covered Up With Flowers - EP - Lissie

We posted about Monsta a while back, but they’ve since been picked up by Polydor/Interscope through Skrillex’s OWLSA imprint. Accordingly, the budget for this new video of the track ‘Messiah’ seems to have gone up a bit. The song is basically a great soul track with amazing vocals, with some big popstep production on the choruses. Love the style or hate it, you can’t deny how great the vocal is, and it’s great to hear a track in this genre that’s not all about the drop.

We’ve been fans of Matt Corby for a while, but have only recently found this incredible version of our favourite track of his: ‘Brother.’ The performance is totally captivating and speaks for itself, so we’ll refrain from saying any more, apart from giving you the link to buy his music on iTunes.

Into the Flame - EP - Matt Corby

We’re going to finish up with a band who certainly don’t need us blogging about them, but Foals‘ new album ‘Holy Fire’ is just so good we couldn’t resist linking one video. Flood and Alan Moulder have done an insane job on the production and mix. The groove on this track is just total magic. Buy the album here:

Holy Fire - Foals

Vital Recommends…Monitor 66 (+ James Vincent McMorrow)

Since their incredible set at the first Strip Sleaze party we can’t stop listening to the blissed-out disco on the Monitor 66 Soundcloud. Perfect for injecting some sunshine into a painfully cold February, this young duo from Stockholm have already crafted a clearly defined identity, and we can’t wait to hear what they are going to be coming up with in 2013. Fusing nostalgic Disco, sun-drenched House and a healthy dose of Swedish pop instinct, their sound is immediately recognisable, whether doing an original production, remix or a whole set. We’ve already featured the brilliant ‘Triscuits‘, released by The (totally excellent) House of Disco, on the blog before but couldn’t resist introducing you to a bunch of other tracks and mixes.

‘Follow You,’ which features a pretty unexpected but perfectly moody James Vincent McMorrow sample, is available for free download in celebration of reaching 5000 likes on their Facebook page. The vocal sample builds and morphs over a smooth and groovy bass before the track drops away to reveal the full part from the original song. We’ve included a live acoustic video of ‘Follow You Down To The Red Oak Tree’ by James Vincent McMorrow as well as the original from the album for you to check out.

And if you’re having a bad day at work, giving Monitor 66’s House of Disco Guestmix a spin is a surefire way to lift your spirits. Spanning just over an hour, this is a journey through Disco full of tight electric basslines, squelchy bass synth and smooth vocals. With a more vintage groove inspired vibe than their own productions and remixes, they still somehow manage to capture the classic Monitor 66 music-for-sunsets vibe.

Introducing Strip Sleaze: Medlar

Medlar Press Shot

We’ve saved Medlar till last because he’s been hard at work putting an awesome mix together especially for Strip Sleaze. Mixed 100% on vinyl with the smoothest cuts to woo your other half on Valentine’s Day.

Medlar has some great releases on Wolf Music under his belt, one of which you can stream below (and buy here), that showcase the more House-orientated direction his own productions are taking at the moment, but expect some sleazy disco classics to find their way into his set this weekend.

Get tickets for Strip Sleaze on Feb 9th at Crucifix Lane here and check out the Facebook event for updates and a chance to win some signed Krystal Klear and Citizen vinyl.

1. Roberta Flack – Feel Like Making Love
2. Zapp – Computer Love
>> FX (Jacques Renault – Bad Skinned)
3. D Train – You’re The One For Me
4. Atmosfear – What Do We Do?
5. David Joseph – You Can’t Hide (Your Love From Me) (Larry Levan Mix)
6. Family Brown – I’m Gonna Getcha
7. Midway – Set It Out (Long Vocal)
8. Jimmy Edgar – My Balance (Last Priority)
9. T.C Curtis – Should Have Known Better (Dub Mix)
10. Evelyn “Champagne” King – Your Personal Touch
11. Sharon Brown – I Specialize In Love
12. Combi – Love From A Start (Edit)
13. Herbie Hancock – I thought It Was You
>>  Drums (HNNY – Trummor)
14. Loose Joints – Is It All Over My Face (MAW Joint Dub)
15. Ce Ce Rogers- Some Day 
16. Rufus ft. Chaka Khan – Any Love
17. Lonnie Liston Smith – Space Princess
18. Skull Snaps – My Hang Up Is You
19. Womack & Womack – Teardrops
20. Robert Glasper ft. Musiq Soulchild and Chrisette Michelle – Ah Yeah

Introducing Strip Sleaze: Krystal Klear

We couldn’t be more excited to have one of our favourite dj/producers of the moment, Krystal Klear, playing a set at the inaugural Strip Sleaze.

Fresh from his set at Warehouse Project this weekend, Krystal Klear will be making the trip down to London to play his contemporary take on Boogie- and Disco-inspired House at Crucifix Lane. On record, he’s been commissioned for remixes by O.M.D., The Count and Sinden and Lazer Sword, as well as collabs with Hudson Mohawke and Skream. His last MadTech Records EP ‘More Attention’ was a slice of retro goodness and we can’t wait for his upcoming releases in 2013.

His live sets are even more legendary than his releases so expect something really special! Check out his 45min Boiler Room set above for an example of just how ridiculously good this guy is!

You can listen to his suuuuuper smooth new remix of ‘Everything is Embarrassing’ by Sky Ferreira below and then head over to our Resident Advisor page for tickets. Also keep checking back on the Facebook event for further updates. We’ll also be giving away a signed 12″ of the MadTech-released ‘More Attention’ tomorrow on Facebook.

Introducing Strip Sleaze: Magnier


Strip Sleaze is all about Disco so we couldn’t resist getting the man behind one of our favourite blogs, The House of Disco, to come and play a set. Not to mention he released our favourite track ‘Triscuits’ from fellow Strip Sleazers, Monitor 66. Magnier‘s track selection is always impeccable and full of vintage-inspired gems and re-edits.

This ‘Best of 2012’ mix is on a bit of a slower tip than you can expect at Strip Sleaze, but is full to the brim with typical Magnier good-time-vibes. You should also go listen to the amazing Guestmixes over at the House of Disco blog, featuring the likes of Jacques Renault, Monitor 66 and Dead Rose Music Company.

Get tickets for Strip Sleaze here.